Celebrations for George Spencer Academy SCITT

We are extremely pleased to share that George Spencer Academy SCITT have been successful in their reaccreditation bid for the delivery of the Initial Teacher Training (ITT) programme, leading to Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) from September 2024 onwards.

This was an extremely challenging process within a short timeframe – we would like to take this opportunity to thank each and every one of our partners who were part of this process, especially our SCITT partner schools, Lead Mentors and delivery partners.

Vice Principal of George Spencer Academy, Jules Gordon said;

‘George Spencer Academy has always been invested in training teachers and we continue to be impressed with all of those who have trained with us in the past and their journeys.

‘We are delighted to continue our offer of high-quality teacher training, unrivalled support, and excellent professional guidance to ensure a year of training becomes a lifetime of opportunity.’ 

As part of Spencer Academies Trust, we have delivered the ITT programme for the past 13 years, and have trained over 500 teachers.

Director of the Spencer Teaching School Hub, Tammy Elward commented;

‘The reaccreditation of George Spencer SCITT and many other ITT providers in the region is fabulous news for the area so that our Hub schools can continue to collaborate to nurture our next generation of teachers.’

SAT CEO, Paul West said;

‘The George Spencer SCITT has been one of the leading providers of ITT in the region for over a decade, and consistently delivers teacher training of the highest quality. The team rightly deserve this accreditation and will continue to deliver excellence in this highly competitive sector.’

The SCITT team will be excited to enter the Stage 2 follow up phase, working with accredited providers to ensure the ITT programme remains of the highest quality and is developed in line with the ITT criteria 2024/25.

We are pleased we can continue to support schools in our region to train and retain the very best teachers for our pupils.